April 25, 2011

Jesus said, “Do not hold onto Me, for I have not yet returned to the Father. Go instead to my brothers and tell them, ‘I Am returning to my Father and your Father, to My God and your God.’”

John 20:17

April 25, 2011

He is risen! That is indeed good news and every one of us celebrated the resurrection of Jesus Christ yesterday at church. Did you have a nice service? Were there new people there? Did some of them really understand the message and accept Jesus as their Savior? This is the prime time of every church each year to appeal to those who don’t regularly come to services. We remind them through the celebration of His resurrection just how much they are loved; what Jesus did for them and how He will one day raise them, too, to new life. I love Easter Sunday for that reason and I pray that your church had a good harvest this time.

I am celebrating extra this season and that is because Jesus not only died for me and took my sins to the grave, but He rose for me to bring me eternal life. That would be more than what I deserve and so I thank Him for this and again, this gives me much to be thankful for and to celebrate. I celebrate for something more, something more that He gave to me and He did not have to since He already gave me eternal life with Him. Jesus gave me the go-ahead to preach His word. Do you see where He gave me those instructions? Look back at our verse for today because it is right there for you to read. Jesus tells the women, “Go and tell.” Those are the instructions He gives to His disciples. Those are the instructions He gives to the women.

Since the day I entered Seminary I have had a lot of men and a few women question me about my role in Seminary. Small percentages wonder where I get my instruction to attend Seminary and think that I am called to be a disciple. This is my favorite verse to refer them to when I answer them. I can quote them many other verses, but this one just seems to sum it up for me perfectly. You see, the women are the ones who go to the tomb after the Sabbath so they can prepare His body properly for burial. When they get there the tomb is empty and He is gone. He appears to the women and when He does He gives them instructions to go and preach His resurrection. The first people they are to preach to will be His brothers, the disciples. Never mind that they didn’t accept what the women said, bear in mind who the One is that instructed them. That is what matters and this is what is important. Man may not be ready to accept woman as equal in the kingdom of God, but God is and to me this is all that matters. For the women who read my devotional, let this encourage you to be the woman God created you to be and any man who reads this, I give to you the same encouragement to go and be who God created you to be. Go and tell–that is what Jesus wants us to do regardless of our gender.

His resurrection is good news, the best news ever. He didn’t have to give me any other news but since He did, then I am going to do as He asked. I am going to go and tell about His resurrection.

He’s alive and He is risen!

In His love,

Michele

2 thoughts on “April 25, 2011

  1. Michele,

    Do not allow anyone to question your commitment to attend seminary. You are there learning and preparing yourself to serve the Lord in a better way.

    I commend you for your commitment to the Lord.

    Claude Mariottini

Leave a Reply

