May 23, 2011-False Prophets

A false witness will not go unpunished, and a liar will not escape.

Proverbs 19:5 NRSV

May 23, 2011

Yesterday during our church service, the worship leader asked of the congregation, “Did any of you do anything different yesterday just in case of a 1% chance the doomsday prediction was right? One gentleman raised his hand and said aloud, “Yes, I was worried.” As soon as I heard those words, today’s devotional popped right into my head.

Harold Camping is a liar and because he told a lie people: 1) sent him money, 2) quit their jobs, 3) made arrangements for the end of their lives and 4) got separated by God even more.

The people who listened to Harold were seekers, lost souls, people searching for God and they believed the words of their leader and his words were all lies. He knows he spoke lies and that is why he asked them to send him money. He created a scam and got millions to believe in it. He deserves to be punished and I mean jail time. I think he should have to pay back the money he took and I think he should serve time in prison. I am sure after one week in San Quentin he will wish the Lord will come.

Do I sound mean? Well, I might but that is because I am mad. I am angry that someone would purposely mislead millions of seekers for financial gain and notoriety. I write this devotional each week with a prayer that any seeker, any lost soul will be found and accept Jesus as their Savior. I am trying to reach out and make sure that everyone knows who God is and what Jesus has done for them. I tell the truth and have maybe 200 readers. He tells a lie and gets millions and they send him money. I am not mad about the number or the money. I am mad that this is how many chose to believe a lie over the truth!

I am not too happy about all the Facebook jokes either. Everyone had a field day making fun out of this doomsday prediction. They laughed at Christians and our belief in Christ’s return. We know that one day Jesus will return, one day we will be raptured and one day will be the Day of Judgment, we just don’t know what day that will be. Now after this damage is done to millions, how can we expect anyone who does not know God to hear our message and take us seriously? This is the damage that liars do to ministry. This is why I am so mad at Harold Camping and all those who made this worse by laughing, joking and mocking the Christian faith.

The only solace I gather from this is today’s verse. Call it mean, call it vindictive, call it what you want. I am speaking out for the millions who were misled and the millions who were scared and the millions who will never accept Christ because of this lie. It is for them I grab ahold of our verse today and say:

Thank You, Lord Jesus, that no liar shall escape and no false witness will go unpunished. We now place Harold Camping into Your able hands. Amen.

2 thoughts on “May 23, 2011-False Prophets

  1. Michele,

    It is sad that one man can cause so much harm to the cause of Christ. Now, he has said that he made a mistake and that the coming of Christ will happen on October 21, 2011.

    Just goes to show that false prophets are never happy with what they predict. The reason: because they know they are wrong.

    Claude Mariottini

    • I just took a poll on my ministry page for face book. It will be interesting to see how many said yes they believed him. I will get back to you on that. I am sorry it took so long to respond Professor. For some reason word press did not notify me of your comment until today. Buy you are so right, they are never happy.
      Did you hear of the gentleman who scammed thousands out of their money saying he would take care of their pets? He claimed to be an atheist and that is how he said he knew he would be around to do that. So for a small fee he promised to take care of their pets when they were gone. People sent him money with the information on their house and how to get into it. Sad but true.

Leave a Reply

