August 1, 2011

August 1, 2011

Then the Lord said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me?
Tell the Israelites to move on. Raise your staff and stretch out your hand over
the sea to divide the water so that the Israelites can go through the sea on
dry ground.”

Then the Lord said to Moses, “Stretch out your hand over the
sea so that the waters may flow back over the Egyptians and their chariots and
horsemen.”

Exodus 14: 15, 16 and 26

======================================================================

 

 

When I left off last week I told you that I would show you how God’s rod/staff can be used to comfort and protect and can strike against and destroy, depending on who you are to God. We are His children so right off I want us all to realize that His rod will be there always for our comfort. However, an enemy of God will not find this comfort but rather punishment. In today’s verses I show how God puts the staff in Moses’ hands to part the sea so the Israelites can pass on dry land to safety. When Pharaoh and the other
Egyptians get in the sea, God has Moses use the staff to bring the water back and drown them. Now aren’t you glad you are on God’s side!

Gary spent 24 hours in the freezing blanket and they used some powerful drugs to put him in a coma. One drug was to paralyze him, another to cause amnesia and one more for pain. Deeply he slept through this coma. As he slept I had brothers and sisters in Christ coming around me and bringing me
words of encouragement and prayers. I felt all of them and really just asked God to help me keep stepping out in faith and believing that He would work amiracle for Gary. This is a lot easier said than done. I played the yo-yo game with God. I put Gary in His hands, I felt peace. I pulled Gary out and felt anxious, so I put Gary back in and on and on it went.

As they started to thaw Gary out he was very slow to wake up. I told all the doctors that Gary is not used to medications being in his body. Gary does not smoke, drink or do drugs and he didn’t even as a teenager.
Sure he may have an occasional drink, but one drink will affect him so he never drinks beyond that. Therefore, all these heavy duty drugs would have a profound effect on him. Gary also has a bad gag reflex, and the ventilator in his mouth and back of his throat caused him to gag every 5 minutes and vomit hourly.

Sothey kept him sedated to ease that but the sedation prevented Gary from waking up. Makes perfect sense, don’t you think? Well, not to the first neurologist. He came in and cleared out the room. He asked all of my supporters to leave and when he had me all alone, he told me Gary would be a vegetable with no real
brain activity. As I walked into the hallway to tell the others I burst into tears. Gary and I both knew that neither one of us would want to live like that, and I did not want to make a decision to unplug my husband.

My supporters were my children and Gary’s friends Bruce andJaweed. All of them told me to keep in mind that God is in control, not thedoctor. With that said, I walked back into Gary’s room and on his board where
the doctors write their orders, I wrote “TRUST GOD.” When Gary’s cardiologist came in he asked if I spoke with the neurologist. I said yes and called that doctor the grim reaper. This title got the neurologist removed from Gary’s care and a new doctor assigned. The cardiologist wanted to wait until Gary woke up
before they did any work on his heart. Gary had to prove to them he had a good quality of life before they spent their time and effort on fixing his heart. The cardiologist told me Gary has to wake up.

This is the moment that I took God’s staff into my hands and used it for God’s purpose. I met with the doctors and nurses and told them to stop giving Gary the sedation. They started to wean him from it and he started to wake up and respond more and more. At night the nursing staff didn’t like how he gagged so they would sedate him, and in the morning the same slow crawl to wake up would start all over. This went on for a day before I took the staff and ordered them to stop medicating Gary. When you have a loved one in the
hospital and they cannot speak for themselves, you must be their advocate and act on their behalf. As the sedation slowly left Gary’s body he became more aware and opened his eyes. He could squeeze our hands and I noticed he was breathing over the ventilator. I asked that he be taken off  the ventilator and hit another wall. The pulmonologist was not happy that I was demanding this, but God told me to hold
my ground and do not be afraid. When he saw I was serious they took Gary off  the ventilator, and he began to breath and he stopped gagging.

As Gary woke up it became apparent that he needed to beplaced in an intensive rehab center and Marionjoy is the best. I asked for them to transfer my husband there and, yep, another brick wall. The insurance
company wanted to send him some place cheaper, but again I took the staff of God and fought until my husband got approved for the stay. This is where we are today as I write. I am next to my husband’s bed, watching him sleep. I am reminded of the time when I sat next to my mom as she lay on her bed and I took
care of her. God was with me then and God is with me now.

God made me His child, God made me a writer, God made me bold, and God put His staff in my hand to lead and to push through. God did all of this because He loves me, He loves Gary and He loves all of you who prayed for us during this time. I am not sure what tomorrow will bring, and there are moments in each day when I feel anxious and fret over what will be. God uses his staff to comfort me. Then He puts that staff back into my hands as He tells me, “Your work is not over.” Nope, there is a long road ahead of me but God is with me, and really if God is with me, then who shall be dumb enough to come against me?

TRUST GOD

In His Love,

Michele

2 thoughts on “August 1, 2011

  1. Michele,
    I am so thankful that God has given you such strength – His strength. Man’s ways are so inferior to God’s! I will continue to hold both of you in prayer.

Leave a Reply

