August 8, 2011

And the King will answer them, “Truly
I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of
my family, you did it to me.”

Then He will answer them, “Truly I
tell you, just as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not
do it to me.”

Matthew
25:40 & 45

August 8, 2011

Do you want to know who your true friends in life are? Have a crisis in your life.
Seriously, there is nothing quite like a crisis to bring out the best and the
worst of some people. I learned this lesson when my mom was dying and it was
reiterated with Gary’s recent illness. I could spend a lot of time and space
just doing a shout-out to my children who have gone out of their way to do
things for both Gary and I. They don’t just do for me, and they don’t do
because they will get paid or gain something from it, they do because they love
us both and they are wonderful.
Instead, I want to talk about all those others who did for me. For all those friends who
offered to clean my house, run errands, come hold me while I cried, help me
fill out papers, find a job and sent me messages. Then there were some who
texted me from their work, they wanted to spend the hour they have for lunch to
bring me food at the hospital. One friend did come just to sit and make sure I
ate. The ones who make sure I eat, go to sleep, cry when I have to and let me vent. I want to talk about the ones who made meals for both Gary and I. Not just for Gary and not just for me but for the both of us
so that the two of us can eat a meal together.
There were friends who just came and sat with me and prayed with me and held me as I cried
and let me be myself in front of them. They knew where I stood with God and
they let me wrestle this out with Him. There were friends who were content to get
emails and just let me update when I can. They understood I needed my time and
space to absorb this trauma and so they stepped back. There were people who I
least likely expected to be there for me but were and in surprising ways.

“Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me.”

All of them who did for me and Gary did for Jesus. This is why I love them so much. I know
that they went out of their way to do for me. I know they gave up their lunch
break, or a dinner at home or the only moment of rest they would get that day
to make sure both Gary and I were okay. I pray and ask God to bless them and
this verse tells me He already does for He sees and He knows those who do for
me; for He says they do for Him. This is their reward for being so kind and
loving.
Sadly, in my life I have experienced some of the “others.” Those who never brought me a
meal, never prayed with me, never held me and let me cry. Those who only did
what they had to and even at that for their own personal interest or gain. Some
of them were mean; some walked into my life, spoke “christianeese” to me and
walked out. Christianeese, by the way, is when someone speaks at you and tells
you to claim Bible verses and which Bible verses to claim. The idea behind that
is, “I am a better Christian than you and if you just read the verses I tell
you and believe in them, then you will be healed.” I really disliked this group
when my mom was dying and I dislike them even more now. Still they are not as
bad as those who felt the need to correct me or tell me what I was doing is
wrong. I made some pretty strong decisions that I felt were in the best
interest for my husband. At no time did I take a survey to see how others felt.
I didn’t care so I am not sure why they felt the need to tell me. They went out
of their way to correct me in some way and never even brought me a cup of
coffee or water. Those who did not go out of their way for whatever reason,
Jesus says:

Truly I tell you, just as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.

I don’t want to end on a bad note so I am going to end with this.
Then the King will say to those at His right hand, (all those who did for the least) “Come,
you that are blessed by My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from
the foundation of the world.” Matt. 25: 34

In His love,

Michele

2 thoughts on “August 8, 2011

  1. Michele this post was truly wonderful and true. I only wish I could do more but I live in Georgia now, but I know you understand as you were on your way to Tennessee to live, but know this girl, you and Gary and still in my prayers for speedy recovery. You are blessed because you bless others through your cheerful smile and your words of wisdom that come from your post. I know we are going to meet up again. It’s just I don’t know when or where. Love you, Arrealia

Leave a Reply

