September 19, 2011

Can a woman forget her nursing child, or show no compassion for the
child of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. See, I
have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; your walls are continually before
Me.

Isaiah 49: 15, 16 NRSV

September 19, 2011

The one thing that is most important to us is that we are remembered. We know that and we are bothered when we meet a person and forget their name. Some of us are better at remembering than others. I write the names down and try to connect it with something. For instance, I meet a new person at church I will write their name and put new person and then a bit of what we talked about under their name. The next week I carry the same sheet in and see them, I then have their name and I can follow up on what we discussed. This tells the person that I care for them and I do care that is why I do that. I want them to know that they are important and I want them to feel loved in my presence.

I feel badly when I forget someone’s name so I am quick to confess that to them and ask again. That is the best way to handle that situation. I often times will joke and say, “I am old” (I am). I will tell them I have too many names to remember. (I do I am a mom of 3, step mom of 2, grandma of 6 and aunt of 23 and great aunt of 5) They will chuckle with me and graciously give me their name again; after all we all forget. The problem comes when we have now met the same person several times and we cannot recall their name. Then we tell them in unspoken words that they were not important. When I make this mistake I am truly sorry for I know how awful that is and I apologize and make no excuse, I just ask for forgiveness.

I picked today’s passage because I searched for it special today. Not for our devotional but for my sanity. I write the devotional about one week in advance and so on the day you read this it will be September 19th
and it will also be my 2nd Wedding Anniversary. Today it is actually the 14th of September. On this day my husband who has an anoxic brain injury has called me his ex wife’s name about 10 times. He uses her name in a sentence, he says, “I love you Linda.” Now I know that he has a brain injury and that he does not control the memories. Still to have your husband look at you and say I love you and call you by another name is not the greatest feeling. It makes me cry every time. I don’t care that I know he has a brain injury I care that he remembers my name and so I ran to God and screamed out, “Am I asking for to much?”

Then God, who is my Father, who loves me dearly and never, leaves me said to me:

Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; your walls are continually before Me.

Then I go back down and I hug that wonderful husband of mine and I tell him I love him. He does forget my name, but I know it is not Linda he loves. I know Gary loves me and I love him. That is what matters the most.

People are human and we forget names. Most times it is just because we are busy and don’t take the time to remember. Write the new name down and put a note next to it. Show the person the next time you meet that
they were important to you. Being remembered is the most important thing to all of us. It is important to God to that is why He inscribes us in the palm of His hands.

Father God, how dearly You love us and for that we thank and praise You through Your Son, our Savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

2 thoughts on “September 19, 2011

  1. I cannot even imagine how painful it must be to have Gary calling you by his ex-wife’s name, along with everything else that you are dealing with.

    I just want to tell you that your journey has been showing me how to go through a crisis without turning away from God. Many people in your circumstance would blame God, curse God or wonder if God was even there. But you are running TO Him, talking to Him and showing all of us how He is with you through all of this.

    I think that shows amazing strength and courage, even if you don’t always feel that way.

    Heather

  2. Heather I just read your comment and I am now going to get off and go to God and thank Him for what you said it only true because God gave me the strenght and the faith that was needed to run to Him. Gosh I am humble by your words because really if not for Christ I could not have done all that. God is amazing and when the road before us dips down He carries us in His wings. This is true.

Leave a Reply

