October 3, 2011

While he was still
speaking, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them; and suddenly a voice came
out of the cloud, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I Am well pleased.
Hear Him!”

Matthew 17:5

October 3, 2011

Since Garys’ cardiac arrest I have spent a lot of time with God in prayer, meditation and reflection. This
morning Gary asked me why this happened to us, and since I spent all this time with God I felt led to share with him what I believe God taught me. Then the two of us prayed and when done Gary agreed with me, so the two of us worked side by side as I typed this devotional.

While Gary and I were sitting with the pastor who was going to marry us, Gary stated that he prayed for over
15 years for God to bring him a wife. Gary said, “God answered that prayer with Michele, the woman I am going to marry.” After we got married, I said to Gary “For years I have prayed to have a deeper relationship with Jesus that will be reflected in my writing.” God answered Gary’s prayers and Gary married me. God
answered my prayers and I entered Seminary school. We both had our eyes on God and then on each other. Now this is how we took them off.

Before I met Gary he would run with his brother and a group of friends. Gary said he never liked to do that
for 2 reasons. One, he had to drive out by them just to run and two, he ran faster than they did and wanted to run his pace. It is for that reason he chose to run by himself around our house. Then after we got married I took up running, and Gary said he would run 6 days a week and 1 day each week he would run with me.

Before I met Gary I worked in ministry but felt like I needed more. When I told Gary that I wanted to go to
Seminary we both agreed this would be good. I would quit my job, go to school and then maintain the house. This would give us more time with each other.

Gary started to run, and just as he began he saw his brother run the Chicago Marathon and he got it in his heart to beat his brother’s score. So as of last October Gary has been training. The only problem with that is then this left no days to run with me.

When I started Seminary I got it in my head that I had to get the highest grade possible in every class. I would spend night and day studying and doing research. Many nights Gary watched television while I read or typed up a paper. It paid off, my first year I made the Dean’s list. The problem was I spent less time with Gary.

When you marry and take that vow before God, you then ask God to be a part of the union. Gary and I both allowed our goals in life to distract us and we took our eyes off of each other and God. Now you may think, how did Michele take her eyes off of God in Seminary? Good question, here is the answer: getting a good grade became her goal. How did Gary take his eyes off of God? A faster running time became his goal. Our
goals became our gods. Once you do that, then taking your eyes off of each other is easy.

This morning Gary and I prayed with each other, and as I said we worked on this devotional together.  Both of us have confessed this to God and are working to keep Jesus as our focus and each other in our arms. Gary asked me today if I was sad that I had to give up 2 classes this first semester. I told him the truth. No I am not, because I know the purpose of Seminary is for me to keep Jesus as my focus and to remember that you are my first ministry. I asked Gary about running and he said he does want to run again, but he wants to run with me.

Why did I pick today’s verse? Because the two of us heard God say:

“This is My beloved Son, in whom I Am well pleased. Hear Him!”

 

Now that God has our attention, yes Lord, we do hear Him.

4 thoughts on “October 3, 2011

  1. Michele,
    I pray so much for God to continue to “renew your strength” that you may “mount up on wings like eagles” and “run and not grow weary.” May God give you rest in Him.

Leave a Reply

