October 31, 2011

Peace I leave with
you; My peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not
let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid.

John 14:27 NRSV

October 31 2011

Before I comment on the peace I want us to look at the end of this verse. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid. One thing I have learned about God is that when He tells us not to have
troubled hearts or be afraid it is because our hearts will be troubled and we will be afraid. Sure we will! This world is not a nice place. Disease, disaster and death occur every day. Sometimes it is far removed from us, other times it breaks down the door of your house and enters in without warning or invite.
Then before you know it your heart is racing and your chest is tightening. You are afraid to breathe or even blink. This is not what God wants you to feel. This is what Jesus is telling you not to do. Don’t let yourselves get that troubled and scared. Easier said then done.

In the middle of this verse Jesus says to us, “I do not give to you as the world gives.” What He means by this is simple. The world will give us temporary peace, enough for the moment but nothing permanent. The world can’t give us much more than that, it is fallen and filled with fallen people just like us. We try to be there for someone when they are suffering but to the person who suffers, they just feel so alone and isolated. But the peace that Jesus wants to give is not the same peace as the world’s.

Now we can look at the beginning of this verse. Jesus is saying, My peace I leave with you, I give to you. My peace shall enter into the very depths of your soul and fill you with a peace that truly surpasses all
understanding. (Philippians 4:7) I can attest to this peace.

One night it was very late and I was not able to fall asleep. I laid in bed for some time and then finally got back out. I came into the study and I sat down to journal. I just wrote to God begging Him to help me
and crumbling before His throne. I asked for peace and then before I knew it, peace was all I felt. I was filled with peace; I didn’t sense it, I felt it. I knew His peace had entered into me. I knew His peace was all around me. I knew His peace would never leave me. I have His peace and this peace is with me, and in His peace I can face another long hard day. In His peace I can accept the trial and in His peace I can overcome it.

The peace we get from Jesus is overwhelming in a very good way. It lets us know that He is with us and taking care of us and loves us. Now the sad part in all of this is that I will forget about this peace and let my
heart get troubled, worry and fear. You do the same. So the next time that happens why don’t we just pray a little prayer:

Lord God, I pray right now for Your peace which I know You give to me so that my heart will not be troubled and so that I shall never fear. I ask for that peace, the peace that can only come from You, to be in me. I feel your peace, Lord Jesus, as it fills me and surrounds me and drowns out all the doubts and fears and fills me with joy and love and peace and understanding. I want to remain in Your peace, Jesus, help me to dwell within the peace of Your love. This I ask in Your Holy Name, Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

