November 7, 2011

But if a widow has
children or grandchildren, these should learn first of all to put their
religion into practice by caring for their own family and so repaying their
parents and grandparents, for this is pleasing to God.

1 Timothy 5:4 NIV

=======================================================================

 

November 7, 2011

I cannot tell you enough times how very grateful I am for having godly children who do all that they can to help me in my time of need. I am going through one of the hardest struggles of my life, and they all gather
around and do whatever they can to assist not only me but Gary too. I know I could not have made it this far without them. So this, again, is my great shout-out to my children and their spouses.

I have to give a shout-out to my grandchildren as well. One Saturday I picked Trystian up for his soccer game, and when we got there he wanted to get let off closer to the field and take Gary with him. Trystian is 6
and I told him if Gary goes with, then he has to stay with Gary and not let him go. Trystian agreed. I let them off, parked the car and when I walked up Trystian was still with Gary making sure he was safe. Jonah gets there and keeps Gary busy by running up and down the hill, something Gary loves to do. When Gary is sad, Cheyanne tells her Papa he is okay and pats him on the back. When Gary asks what happened to him, Kayden tells him “bwaim imjunry.” Mason brings Papa lots of toys to play with and Trinity just plays the adorable card and collects kisses.

There are days and times when I ask God why did He allow this to happen, and then I stop and remember all these moments. I raised my children to be godly and they are now raising their children the same way.
Being godly is more than going to church, being godly is knowing how to serve one another. The greatest place a child will ever learn that is in their own home. They see their family serve one another out of love and then learn it is because their parents are serving God. This type of service is best learned at home. Now there are children who did learn this and they grow up and forget it. There are some who never learned it and grow up and do take care of their own family. The majority however, have seen it and now live what they learn. This is what generational blessing is all about.

God is pleased, very pleased, when He sees children and grandchildren taking care of their family as they should. I am very pleased to be the mother of such wonderful parents to such amazing grandchildren. It is my honor to pray for all of them and before going to bed each night thanking God for one more day with them. I pray this is an encouragement to you, to teach your children and your grandchildren how to care for the family. Allow them to learn by serving when they are young. Trystian is 6, Jonah, Kayden and Cheyanne are 2, Mason is 1 and Trinity is 10 months. All of them help grandma and I find them all simply
amazing. Thank You, God, for my grandchildren and thank You for one more day with them all.

Leave a Reply

