December 12, 2011

There was also a prophet, Anna, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was of great age, having lived with her husband seven years after their marriage, then as a widow to the age of eighty-four. She never left the temple but worshiped there with fasting and prayer night and day. At that moment she came, and began to praise God and to speak about the child to all who were looking for the redemption of Jerusalem.

Luke 2:36-38

 

December 12, 2011

I read this passage about Anna and I am happy for her and sad for her all at the same time. First, I am happy that she is a prophet because I am in Seminary. For every religion or person who thinks that women do not belong in ministry, they should read this passage. Anna is a prophet who serves God both day and night and at 84 gets to see the Baby Jesus. God chooses the prophets and so God does choose women to serve Him. This is not the only example, just today’s. I read she is a prophet and I know how it feels to be called out by God in a man’s world to serve Him. Still I am glad that I was called, and so was Anna. Then I read how she spent day and night with God and I am jealous of her. I pray for a job where I can spend the day/night with God. Then I read she is a widow. Married just 7 years and widowed for many more, she is now 84 years old. I am not sure how old she was when she married but I do know she lived a lot longer widowed. I get that far and I think that was a long time but Anna didn’t use that time grieving. Instead, Anna chose to use that time worshipping God.

Today’s devotional is going to be short and to the point. I have no clue how long Gary’s recovery is going to be. I do feel that each day he improves, but for every 5 steps forward we take 4 back. So progress is slow in coming. Then there is always the chance that Gary will only be restored so far and never fully recover. This is truly in the hands of God and I have no idea where God will be taking us. I only know where we are today. With that in mind, then the question which is asked of me is this: What will you do with the time you have left on this earth Michele?

It is my plan to serve God day and night. I plan to fast when He asks me to. I will know because I want to learn to pray without ceasing. I want to worship Him with the words I say and I want to serve Him by being a good caretaker and wife of Gary while still being a good mom and grandma to my family. I want to never stop writing or evangelizing for that is the spiritual gift God gave me, and I want to share always that Jesus is the Salvation of the world. Like Anna I want my calling to be my lifelong service to God. I know that the road ahead of me is long and will be hard. Anna had a hard road to walk herself. Serving God is a choice we make. God calls us and I do believe we are given the choice to serve Him or not. I never want to stop serving God and I will serve Him wherever He sends me. Like Anna, I would prefer God not send me alone. I want my husband to go with me in the mission field, not be my ministry. However, I will go and serve as God calls not as I wish. This is what I plan to do with the time I have left on this earth.

What about you? What will you do with your time?

3 thoughts on “December 12, 2011

  1. Michelle,

    I like the new theme of your blog. I pray things are going well with you.

    Thank you for linking your blog to my blog. My blog has moved to my revamped web page. The new URL of my blog is http://claudemariottini.com and it contains all my previous posts.

    I would like to continue exchanging links between our blogs. I will link you blog to my blog. Please, include my blog in your blogroll by using the URL above.

    Thank you for our dialogue through our blogs. Have a blessed Christmas.

    Claude Mariottini

    • Professor I would love to add you but I don’t remember how, I thought I did, can you please send me the instructions again.
      I am so glad to see you are up and writing. I have missed your posts and I was worried about you. Have a wonderful Christmas, God belss you.
      Michele

Leave a Reply

