January 16, 2012

January 16, 2012

Genesis 1:24-25

Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and they shall become one flesh. And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.

There is a lot to learn when you get married the first time. I believe one of the hardest concepts is how to forsake all others for your spouse. Easily done when you are dating and engaged. You tend to live for only one another. Then you get married and his family and your family and his friends and your friends, and his job and your job all clamor for your attention. Placing and keeping your spouse in front of them all will prove to be difficult. As you try, friends and family will say to you, “You are married you don’t have to spend all your time with him anymore.” Then they will laugh. They may even go on to say, “Wait, one day you will be glad to get away from him.” The family and friends from the man’s side will pretty much say the same. Now you may smile and think they only have good intentions but you are wrong. They have selfish intentions.

From the moment you say the words, “I do” you are telling God that the one you are marrying, the one He gave you is the one you will put before all others. God will come first in your life and your spouse will come second and the three of you shall keep the marriage commitment. This does not mean you will never see your family and friends again; you will just put them in the proper order behind your spouse. I think the greatest example of this I have ever seen was a married couple I knew a few years ago. I will simply call the Jones. Mrs. Jones was a co-worker and one day we all thought it would be nice if we went out after work for dinner. When we asked her to join us she said that would be great. She showed up at the restaurant with her husband. We were surprised but not half as surprised as she was when she saw we didn’t bring our husbands. She was from a foreign country and could not understand how we can spend a day away from our husbands and then chose to not even have a meal with them at the end of the day.

I learned a lot from this woman and so when Gary and I got engaged the two of us talked about what I learned. Gary and I were both in agreement that we would have every dinner with each other and try to live out that commitment. Even when Gary was at the hospital I did all that I could to be with him during meal time and eat with him. I can count on my one hand how many meals I actually missed. In fact, I was there for Gary’s lunch and most days for his breakfast. The staff at Marionjoy really began to rely upon me to take care of Gary and I was glad to do that. Sure this commitment was hard to keep, sure it meant a lot of running around. Gary cannot even remember me keeping this commitment, us making that commitment or ever eating a meal with me before. So why did I go out of my way to keep it? God knew and so did I.

You see, when you get married, you enter into a commitment with your spouse and GOD. Therefore, if one of you is unable to keep that commitment because of an illness you are not free to break the commitment; you are still bound by your own words. As hard of a concept as that is, let me tell you it is also rewarding. I may be carrying the load for my husband but it is God who is carrying me. I feel Him, I know He is with me. As I am typing this Gary is sitting next to me and telling me he loves me and smiling at me. He may not remember eating a meal but God has not let him forget his love for me. How great is that!  Gary has no memory of meeting me, our dates or our wedding. Yet, Gary knows that he loves me with all his heart and soul. I tell you this truth, if you give your marriage to God, if you enter into the commitment with God and if you trust God, Even if your spouse is unable to keep the commitment God will help you and bring you moments of joy.

The other verse for today is about the union of man and woman. They were both naked and not ashamed. In other words, they both knew one another for who they were. Your family knows you one way and your friends another. Gary is an identical twin and Guy can argue all he wants that he and Gary have a bond. Ha ha ha…no bond is like the one of husband and wife. They are naked and unashamed; they know the intimate part of one another and that surpasses any other bond on earth. That is why no one and nothing shall come before the other. No one and nothing knows you like the one you are married to except God. God does not want us to end our relationships with family and friends. God wants us to put them in perspective. Therefore, if anyone comes between you and your spouse quickly push them out-of-the-way. Tell them that you are doing exactly what God requires of you in this commitment. Child of God, if you give your marriage to God, if you remember the bond and the commitment and you honor it God so shall honor the two of you and nothing and no one can come between you. Let us pray.

Lord God how hard it is today to honor the commitment of marriage. Everything we see, hear and touch tries to pull us apart. Teach us Lord how to not let any person or anything come before our spouse. Teach us Lord how to honor our commitments to one another and Lord help us lean on You as we do. This we pray in the Name of Jesus. Amen

One thought on “January 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

