February 6, 2012

HISCHILD214 MINISTRY 2012

February 6, 2012  (In memory of Duane Hunter who entered eternity yesterday)

Exodus 3:3

Then Moses said, “I will now turn aside and see this great sight, why the bush does not burn.”

Please read: Exodus 3

 

If you have your Bibles near you, please open them because today I want to start reading through Exodus 3. I don’t want this devotional to be long, so I am going to break it up and continue with this lesson for the week. Let me encourage you now to come back and feel free to comment.

Moses was born an Israelite and raised as an Egyptian. He saw with his own eyes the mistreatment of his people and killed a fellow Egyptian. Fleeing from his homeland and the Pharaoh, Moses met Zipporah and they married. We start out in chapter 3 of Exodus reading about Moses who is tending the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, who is a priest of Midian. While he is busy tending the sheep an Angel of the Lord appears to him by way of a flame of fire in the midst of a bush.

All of us have seen with our own eyes how devastating a fire can be. In seconds it can go from a small flicker to an out of control flame, destroying everything in its path. Funny thing about this is that the flame didn’t destroy the bush, it just continued to burn. That was enough, Moses’ interest was intrigued. In verse 3 we read that Moses then said, “I will now turn aside and see this great sight, why the bush does not burn.” Then in verse 4 we read, “So when the Lord saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, ‘Moses, Moses!’”

God is in the burning bush and His intent here is to grab the attention of Moses. God will do that still today, maybe not in the way of a burning bush but He does use other ways. God can use an illness, an accident, a financial disaster or even an ordinary day. When God wants your attention God will use what He knows is the best way to get your attention. For Moses it was a burning bush. For me it was Gary’s sudden death on July 7th.

Without a doubt, before July 7, 2011 Gary and I were doing everything we thought God wanted us to do. In fact, the constant prayer that Gary and I had was to teach our children and grandchildren the love value of a marriage. This was important to us because both Gary and I were divorced. We both failed at the one relationship that is bonded and tied up with God. We failed one time; we did not wish to fail again. We wanted to do all that was in our power and through Christ to show to our children and grandchildren how God is in our marriage and how to love one another until death do us part.

Then as I told you before, Gary and I set off and began to let different things grab our attention. Gary began training for the Chicago Marathon. The one thing that escaped his attention was that I took up running to be with him, and he chose not to run with me but to run alone. I began Seminary and my intention was to draw closer to God, but my goal was to make the Dean’s List. I made it and Gary won a half marathon, and then God did something to grab our attention.

God does not call out to Moses until God sees Moses turn towards the burning bush. Child of God, this is our first lesson from this study: God will do what He needs to do to get our attention. When that happens turn to God and give Him your attention. Then be prepared to listen. Let us pray.

Father, in the middle of my very busy life, I do see You are trying to get my attention. I will stop what I am doing and I will turn Your way. Speak Father, for Your child is listening. This I pray in Jesus’ Name.

 

Leave a Reply

