February 15, 2012

Daniel 10:2

At that time I, Daniel, mourned for three weeks. I ate no choice food; no meat or wine touched my lips; and I used no lotions at all until the three weeks were over.

We are the generation that likes to have everything at its fingertips in lightning speed. From our computers to our cell phones, speed competes for service. We want answers to come to us in lightning speed and we want our prayers answered by God the same way. Sure we do, we all pray to God and expect Him to give us the answer as soon as we say amen. God can do that, but He doesn’t always.

Daniel is fasting and praying to God with no answer. I can relate to that. I have been praying for over seven months for Gary’s brain to be restored. What have you been praying for? Some of you might be praying for your marriages, or a loved one’s health, or even your own. Perhaps you are praying for employment or financial help with your overwhelming bills. What is it that you pray for and God has not yet answered?

Daniel is fasting and praying and after three weeks when a vision appears before him, just listen to what he says to Daniel regarding his prayer:

Daniel 10:13

The prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one days. Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, because I was detained there with the king of Persia.

The response Daniel is praying for was on its way when the powers that we don’t see detained the response. Do I think this happens all the time? I have no clue but that is not what I want to focus on today. Today I want you to just know that Daniel continued to fast and pray even when he did not hear an answer. That is hard to do, trust me I know, but I have every intention to fast and pray for 40 days answer or not. Let us pray.

Almighty God, see me and hear me as I fast and pray and know that my heart’s desire is to always do Your will. I do believe it is Your will for me to fast and pray and remain faithful even when there is no answer. Help me do this I pray, in Jesus’ Name. Amen

Leave a Reply

