February 16, 2012

 

Esther 4:16

Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night and day. I and my maids will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.

None of us are going to have to face the cruel king that Esther faced. Going before him is deadly if he did not summon you. Still this is what Esther must do in order to try and save her people. She asks for her fellow Jews to fast and pray along with her.

That is what I want you to do during this Lenten season. Get yourself a prayer partner or prayer group, fast and pray together. There is strength in numbers and there are some things we just do better together. Esther is praying for her people so it is fitting that they all fast and pray together.

What are you praying for? How can I help you? How may I pray for you? Please share with me what you want to be prayed for, you already know mine. Let us pray.

Father God, today I ask that You join us all together in this process as we lean on You during our time of fasting and praying. This I ask in Jesus’ Name. Amen

Leave a Reply

