April 11, 2012

1 Corinthians 13: 2-3
And though I have the gift of prophecy and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.

As the movie “The Vow” begins, we see the accident and how they met right up front. It is a rush of scenes and it is meant just to give you an overview of how the two of them met, fell in love and were inseparable. They had a life and they were happy. Then the car accident occurs, and as she wakes up from her injury it becomes clear that she has a brain injury. Gary and I met and married and had a spectacular life in a relatively short amount of time. Then Gary died in bed, and as he came out of the coma it was very clear that he had a brain injury.

In the movie the girl mistakes her husband for the doctor. In my real life, Gary was unable to focus his eyes, use his hands, walk and respond. His brain injury was far more serious but he did know me. In fact, the first thing Gary did when he opened his eyes was follow me around the room. Chantel was in the room with me when the neurologist walked in to talk to Gary. I moved from one side of the bed to the other and Gary followed me with his eyes. Then he refused to look at the doctor, and as we laughed I had to order him to pay attention to her so she could assess his progress. When he began to speak we realized that he lost executive functions of his brain due to long and short term memory loss.

I was sitting in Gary’s room with him one afternoon when a woman I don’t know walked in and told me she knew Gary. She worked with him before at a different hospital. I was crying and praying, and she told me to stop crying and have faith. Well, in response to her now and not then, I do have faith in God and I do believe that God can heal Gary. I just pray that God will heal Gary, but above all that I pray God gives me love for others. I pray that I will never ever walk into a hospital room and look at the one who is crushed by the illness which just devastated her life and speak those words. While I pray they would have faith, may God strike me dead if I question their faith at that time!

It does take a lot of faith to get through a crisis in life and I feel sorry for those who face trials and have no faith. I don’t choose that time in their life to remind them of that. I don’t say it to a believer either. If I think someone is lacking of faith I pray for them, I don’t criticize them. Now here is the amazing part to this, I am not alone in this experience. This is a common occurrence and so today’s message comes with a plea: Please, child of God, be Jesus for the person who is hurting. Jesus would come to them and hold them and love them, pray for them and serve them. He would not stand there and ask to see their faith and neither should you.

Leave a Reply

