April 23, 2012

1 Corinthians 13:7
Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes in all things, endures all things.

As I type this devotional tonight my husband is at his brother’s house living there for a short time. The reason is that much like the woman in the movie “The Vow,” Gary has no memory of me and he feels safest with his brother Guy. I understand that and still letting him go, letting him stay is the hardest thing I have yet to do. That is because I truly want Gary home with me. The doctors are not giving us much to hope for these days. Most of them concur that if Gary was going to recover he would have shown improvements by this date. Based on all their years of medical knowledge, they feel that any improvement Gary makes will be good but not significant.

Then there is Gary’s brother, who just so happens to be Gary’s identical twin brother, and he feels that Gary will recover some of his short-term memory skills. If Gary does that then he can be reintroduced to me and we can date. He fell in love with me once so I could pray he would fall in love with me again.
In the movie the couple divorced, and it is after some time that she finally comes around looking for her husband. We learn in the credits that they married again and had children. The story ended and it was a happy ending. I may not get a happy ending to my story and that can be my reality.

Another part of my reality is that I know God can heal Gary, but He may choose not to. We need to remember that when Jesus walked on the earth He healed a lot; He left even more unhealed–not because He didn’t love them but because it was not God’s will for them to be healed. It may not be God’s will for Gary to be healed and that can be a definite reality for me. While that is my reality, I also have Christ with me in my reality. With Christ my reality may scare me, but I know Christ never leaves me and He will stay with me. It is for that reason that I can endure, bear, believe and hope in all things. That is how crazy love is and that is how crazy in love God wants us to be.

2 thoughts on “April 23, 2012

  1. These have been very powerful posts Michele – thank you for sharing. Going back to some of your posts recently that have talked about the different things people have said that were hurtful, even though they may not have meant them to be, it would also be interesting to know what kinds of things people have said or done that were helpful. What words have people offered that were hopeful or inspiring to you? That would help the rest of us know how to offer a friendly word to others in difficult situations.

    • Heather that is a very good suggestion and yes I will do that. Sometimes I just focus on the negative and forget all the positive. I just read in a journal I wrote a year ago “Lord help me be more positive.” Than I read your comment and heard God say to me, do better and yes I can. Thank you

Leave a Reply

