I Met God Today

Psalm 46:1

 God is our refuge and strength. A very present help in trouble.

 

I met God today. He stood about 5 feet 8 inches and was an elder gentleman. His hair was all white and so was his trim beard and mustache. He had soft blue eyes and the sweetest smile that lit up his face. He came to my house today, pulled right up in a tan Camry. I didn’t see him pull in the driveway. I was busy cleaning the kitchen and trying to distract myself. I try to distract the ‘whys’ that come in my head, I try to blink back the tears that so easily come to my eyes. I try to swallow the fear that creeps up my neck and chokes me. I try but I am not usually that good. Today as I did the dishes I was sad again and going down the lonely road when the doorbell rang.

I came around the corner and saw the car first and wondered who it might be and what they would want. I stopped and took a deep breath because I didn’t want to go to the door crying. As I opened it up I saw this man holding mail in his hand. He saw me and his smile went from ear to ear and I heard him say through the screen door, “hi neighbor.” I opened it up and he said hello to me and then he explained that my mail got delivered to his house. He said he was just going to put it in the mailbox and let the mail carrier re-deliver it but then he said he would have missed the chance of meeting me.

As I took the mail I noticed it was Gary’s medication and I am not sure why but I shared with him that my husband has a brain injury. He looked at me really seriously and asked if there was anything he could do for me. I went on to tell him thank you but no, I then said, “Our God is Sovereign and He is Sovereign over all the earth and He knows what He is doing and that my husband is there a part of God’s plan. Then I said you may pray for us if you want.

His smile came back instantly and he said he would pray for us and never forget. Then he crossed over my threshold and hugged me tightly and kissed my cheek and said, God loves you and so do I.  I thanked him and as he started to walk away he turned back and said, “Just think I was just going to put that in my mailbox and let the mailman re-deliver it but then I would have missed meeting you and learning you had a prayer request.” I smiled and him and wished him well and he got in his car he drove away.

On my mail he wrote, “Hi neighborJ! This got miss-delivered. I smiled now ear to ear and I thanked God for this man’s visit and returned back to the kitchen. It was then that I realized, “I just met God.”  He was there in the body of that elderly man and he brought me my mail and he hugged me and kissed me and told me he loved me.

I needed God today, I really needed God today and that was the constant cry I was having in my heart all morning. I kept saying I need You, I need You, I need You…..and He showed up.

My God is my refuge and my strength. A very present help in trouble. I know I just met Him-today!

Leave a Reply

