June 25, 2012

Esther 2:22 NKJV
So the matter became known to Mordecai, who told Queen Esther, and Esther informed the king in Mordecai’s name.

Talk about being in the right place at the right time! Esther is crowned queen out of all the young virgins who were gathered to the palace. We also learned that her cousin Mordecai, who cared for her since her parents died, came to the palace every day to the king’s gate to inquire about Esther. It is there in the king’s gate that Mordecai learns about the plot to kill the king. He tells Esther who then on behalf of Mordecai tells her husband, the king. The men are dealt with and this all gets recorded in the book of Chronicles.

Several years ago, if you all remember, I was a teacher’s aid for special needs students. I only worked there for 3 years and really didn’t understand then why God opened that door for me to walk through. On April 12, 2008 I walked into the Evangelical Free Church of Naperville and met my now step-daughter Christine. I walked right past her dad and right up to her and started a conversation. A few months later I told Gary that I know God used that time I worked with the students to free me up so that I could talk to his daughter and through her meet him. I knew it was God who opened that door. I was only half right about the reason. A few months ago one of Gary’s doctors watched as I showed her the therapy that I used for Gary. She was impressed and asked me how I knew what materials to use and how to implement them. This is when God’s purpose for those 3 years came into full focus.

I chose the Book of Esther because I think it parallels very nicely with my life circumstances. It is an easy way for me to show you how God prepares us for something that will happen later on in life. This is how detailed God is. When I am done with the Book of Esther I am going to show you how God takes us gently through stages. For now I just want you to acknowledge the fact that God is Sovereign and He does know what lies ahead for us, He does prepare us and He does take care of all the little details. The proof of that is found in the steps of our lives. Soon, very soon Mordecai and Esther will discover how important it was for him to overhear the plot to kill the king. The two of them will see how they play an important part in God’s greater plan.

Today they don’t see it, we never do. Today they just see what is before them. They see two men plotting to kill the king. What do you see? What is it you are going through that today you don’t understand? Write it down and mark this passage with it. Then when it becomes evident to you go back and see how God used this time for that. God is Sovereign and not one day is wasted. God will use all our days to bring out His glory. We are seeing that in the Book of Esther; let’s learn to see it in our own lives.

Leave a Reply

